An Awkward Moment

I used to have a best friend in grade 6 and 7 (I’m in university now if you remember). Note the ‘used to’. It’s kind of sad when I think about it, because we shared so many jokes, wrote so many letters, had so many phone chats, etc etc. But I guess she was always the kind of girl to get ticked off easily, and eventually near the end of grade 7 she sort of ditched me. I could tell because she avoided me, hung out with other friends, and passed letters to other girls, and I barely knew why. I guess she didn’t really ditch me like, right out front (face-to-face or anything), probably because we were about to leave elementary school anyways, but I could tell our friendship had ended. Yeah, elementary school drama was messed up; people were getting ditched all the time.

Anyways, today I saw her at my bus stop. After elementary school, we never talked (different high schools), so when I noticed her from her back (for some reason I still recognized her posture/hair style) from like 15 meters away, I slowed down and stopped like 3 meters from her at the bus stop. It was very awkward, because I knew that she knew who I was and I’m pretty sure I saw her peeking (I was peeking too I guess). But she also looked like she didn’t want to talk to me and kept looking the other way, so I decided to not talk to her. Instead I pulled out my mp3 player because she had her iPod out and was also texting on her phone.

Maybe I should have approached her, maybe I should have said hi, but I couldn’t bring myself to do it. I really wonder why? Maybe because we were so different now? And the way it ended in grade 7, it was just too awkward. But the sad thing is we did say hi on facebook a few years back lol, it’s stupid how reality is so different from social networking.

Anyways, the wait for the bus was weird and awkward. And now I kind of wish I said hi, to see her response and to end the awkward moment. I hate thinking about what could have been, and how friends come and go. Sighh.

1 Comment

Filed under Life 101, Random Thoughts., When Reality Hits.

One response to “An Awkward Moment

  1. 809charlietango

    Very interesting. I know the feeling and beat myself up for so many people that I have let go as well. Sometimes everyone needs the will power to step up and speak to someone you know and or a stranger because everyone is in control of their ultimate choice. Sometimes it makes you wonder what it could have been had you really spoken to your friend again. Who knows, maybe both of you would have discovered the underlying reason why she stopped talking to you.

Leave a comment